Term DatesTerm Dates Staff IntranetStaff Intranet Student CentralStudent Central

St. George's Catholic School

The Cardinal Hume Academies Trust Information

St George's, along with Bishop Douglass and St Thomas More, is in a high-achieving triumvirate of Catholic Schools in the Cardinal Hume Academies Trust. 

The Trust Vision

The Cardinal Hume Academies Trust brings together Catholic schools that collectively embrace the teachings of Christ, with prayer, worship and witness to faith at their centre. The vision is for safe, orderly and well-disciplined environments, facilitating the spiritual and holistic growth of pupils and staff.

We aim to have inclusive, high-performing Catholic schools providing an education of quality; each one graded as ‘Ofsted outstanding’. Valuing all students, the schools will have an academic reputation and prepare students for the challenge of a dynamic world. Through high-achieving sixth forms, they will provide pathways to the best in higher education.

Mutual respect will be the hallmark of all interactions within the schools. Trust schools will be outward looking, sharing their expertise, and learning from others. They will interact positively with stakeholders, including feeder primary schools. As an Investor in People, the Trust will develop its workforce ensuring rewarding opportunities for career progression and personal growth.

Background To The Trust Including Governance Arrangements

In 2011 two schools, St Thomas More and St George’s in Maida Vale, approached the Diocese of Westminster for permission to become an Academy.  This was driven by government policy which was driving the Academy programme nationally and allocating more resources to Academy schools.  

The Cardinal Hume Academies Trust was set up  with the agreement of the Diocese of Westminster to be the umbrella organisation for two outstanding secondary schools, St George’s Catholic School in Maida Vale, West London and St Thomas More Catholic School in Wood Green. 

The key principles at conversion in 2013 were:

  1. That statutory responsibilities were with the Trust Board ie: the filing of accounts and ensuring compliance with company law.
  2.  Delegation of operational responsibilities were to the governing bodies.

Both St George’s and St Thomas More are rated as ‘Outstanding’ by OFSTED (2014 and 2012 respectively) and by the Diocese of Westminster S48 Inspection (2016 and 2012 respectively).   In the last application round, both schools have been over-subscribed and have had to organise independent appeals.   The Executive Headteacher is Martin Tissot who has been at St George’s helm for ten years, starting in 2006.  In 2010, he was appointed as Headteacher of St Thomas More School.   He was appointed Headteacher of Bishop Douglass School in East Finchley in 2015 and this joined the Cardinal Hume Academies Trust in September 2016.   Bishop Douglass School is currently OFSTED ‘Good’ (2013) but the leadership are convinced that recent very good examination results for two years running (GCSE results put the school in the 3 percentile in the country for value-added, A level results are in the top 10% in the country) merit an OFSTED outstanding judgement and the Governors have asked for a re-inspection of the School.  

All three schools are mixed, comprehensive schools providing Sixth Form provision (11-19 education) and all share a common set of aim, policies and objectives.  The schools have high (St George’s and Bishop Douglass) and very high (St Thomas More School) social deprivation indicators, with the proportion of pupils with Free School Meals (FSM) and Special Educational Needs (SEN) exceeding the national average in all three schools.  

The Trust has set up an overarching management board containing governor representatives from the three schools, Diocesan representatives and Martin Tissot who is the Chief Executive Officer for the Trust.  Aside from statutory company responsibilities and some monitoring there is maximum delegation to the Governing Bodies of all three schools who still assume the mantle of strategic responsibility.  

The Trust Board meets four times a year and considers the audit reports, the budgets and accounts of the three constituent schools and the overall performance of the Schools.   The Trust has three committees – the Finance and Audit Committee, the Risk Committee and the Remuneration Committee (that considers the salary of the Chief Executive).   Committees meet three/four times a year.  


The current members of the Board are:

Chair – Mr John Meadows - Chair of Governors - ex-officio

Vice-Chair – Mr Michael Veal - Foundation Director

Mrs Anna Clark – Foundation Director

Mr Martin Tissot – Chief Executive Officer – ex officio

Dr Christopher Horsburgh – Chair of Governors – ex-officio

Mrs Anne O'Shea - Foundation Director

Finance Committee members

Chair –Mr Michael Veal

Mr John Meadows

Mr Martin Tissot

Dr Christopher Horsburgh

Remuneration Committee members

Mr Michael Veal

Mr John Meadows

Dr Christopher Horsburgh

Audit and Risk Committee members

Chair - Mr John Meadows

Mrs Anna Clark

Mr Martin Tissot

Registered Office
Lanark Road, Maida Vale, London W9 1RB
Tel: 020 7328 0904
Email: office@stgeorgesrc.org

The Trust has a professional minute taker, Ms Jenny Ridd.   The Company Secretary and Chief Financial Officer is Ms Melanie Barker.


His Eminence Cardinal Vincent Nichols

The Right Revd John Sherrington

The Westminster Roman Catholic Diocese Trustee

Dr Christopher Horsburgh 

Strategic Board

Trustees details including date of appointment, attendance at meetings and relevant business and pecuniary interests including governance roles in other educational institutions:

Click for Information

Financial Reports


Trust Documents